21 Day Fix: Day 0

Today’s blog post is pretty much a note to self.

I am looking forward to getting started on the 21 day fix offered by beach body tomorrow.  I have several friends who have done it, and I have a few friends who are coaches… And I’ve heard enough about it at this point to know that it will help me achieve some long-term health and fitness goals.  

More about those later.  Promise.  So many stories!
For starters, however, I want to put on the record that I wanted to start today… But there were many forces to overcome, and I did not navigate them successfully. 

So today will be the pregame warm-up.

 The different colored containers you use to measure out your food for the day will arrive tomorrow, and I just can’t wait to start using them to teach myself portion control.

Beach body is very strict about portion control, so they have a set of color-coded containers that guide you to see exactly how much you should be eating of the different kinds of foods on the plan. Portion control has always been a huge issue for me, so I am excited to internalize this over the next 21 days.

More about the containers later. 

While I was waiting for the coffee to brew, I had a spoonful of coconut oil. I did not measure it. However, I wanted to have a feeling of satiety that hopefully would kick start my day the right way.  I left the house before 7 AM this morning for a work meeting in Seattle and I will be gone until probably 10 PM.  It’s a really long day, and so I’m feeling anxious about that.

For breakfast, I had a piece of frittata with kale, onions, ground sausage, chopped peppers… And of course, eggs! It’s hard to know how much of the containers this would take up in terms of vegetables, protein, and healthy fats. I think Ray used coconut oil when he made it, but I can’t be sure.

Because I am eating homemade foods with different ingredients in them, and I am new to the program, I can’t really estimate how much of certain kinds of foods I am eating today.  I’m just going to be at peace with that.  Once I am more familiar with the containers, hopefully I will be able to look back at this post and figure out how much I ate!
As I mentioned, I’ll probably be gone about 13 hours today, so I definitely don’t have the ideal amount of food for lunch and dinner and snacks… But I at least have enough food to get me through.

I packed a big spinach salad with a whole avocado, one lime, and fresh cilantro… And I poured a tablespoon of olive oil into a container to dress it.  My daily allowance of avocado on the plan is 1/3, so this is definitely overdoing it! 

That’s why today is day zero.  The Avocado.

I also packed some of those baby colored peppers for snacking.

I made some salmon cakes using a whole 30 recipe a while ago and put them in the freezer, so I also packed three of them. They have canned salmon, sweet potato, butter… I will enjoy these, but again, it’s hard to know how these measure out in terms of the containers.

I also packed a packet of shakeology that my friend Melissa gave me yesterday… And I also have a shake packet formulated by Mark Sisson of the primal blueprint.  

So I will just eat all this food throughout the day and not worry about it too much. If I am hungry tonight, we have plenty of vegetables and some homemade pumpkin soup in the fridge. 

Because I will be gone so long today, I don’t think I’ll be able to get in a workout. But I am looking forward to starting with the 21 day fix exercise program tomorrow.

So now I’m going to enjoy a cup of coffee and settle in to what will be a great but very intense day!  I hope I made the right choice is to fuel myself.

I am looking forward to a forensic analysis later once I understand how the whole portioning thing works!

4 Replies to “21 Day Fix: Day 0”

  1. Hi Jennifer,

    Michele and did the 21 Day Fix exercise program (using their video stuff) for about a year, and subscribed to the Shakeology shakes for (I think) a few years. I’d like to give you what I thought of it.

    I liked that each day of the 7 day week had a different program. They work on different areas, and one of the days is based on Pilates. I have to say for a while it kicked my butt, but it did get better.

    At times I still have Autumn’s voice in my head, with such things as “don’t cheat, you only cheat yourself”. I admit that it was cool to watch Michele doing this with me, and quoting almost everything Autumn said. I’m assuming that Autumn will be the coach on the video set, assuming that’s what you’re doing. I learned to like and hate her at the same time, but overall she was motivational and not obnoxious at the same time.

    Shakeology – probably the best, albeit one of the most expensive shakes available. I liked most of the flavors. Michele and I stuck with that for a few years, faithfully, M-F, every morning. We probably would still be on it today but there was an issue with updating the credit card number with them that we didn’t like (in terms of security), and we finally switched to other products that we are using today. I don’t know that there’s any formulated shake that stands up to Shakeology, and I think that’s part of why it’s more expensive.

    I think you will like the program and you sound ready! Good luck and I bet you will kill it!

    Mike

    PS. I get no kickbacks or benefits from Beach Body for posting this and I’m definitely not a coach. Just my honest, unsolicited feedback. =)

    1. Thank you so much, Michael, for taking the time to write such a thoughtful comment! I am really excited to try out the workouts… And also super nervous.

      So far, everyone who has done shakeology has raved about it… I have used a lot of different protein shakes over the years, so I’m looking forward to trying this one. Was there a flavor that you particularly liked?

      I am going to do the 21 day fix video with Autumn… So I will be ready to quote quotes with you and Michele! I’ve heard it’s super hard, but I’ve been practicing having a positive mindset!

      Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am really grateful!

Leave a Reply

