SCD Day 4: Tiger Blood!

The Whole 30 crowd has a phrase for how you feel at some point during a Whole 30– Tiger Blood.

While “tiger blood” feels different for everyone, here’s what it looks like for me.

Yesterday, day 3, after waking up and feeling a bit groggy/slow/sluggish . . .

  • I had a 9AM meeting that ran until 11:30AM.  I felt awesome the entire time– sharp, alert, on point . . . and when I finished my cup of coffee 1/3 of the way in, I didn’t panic like I usually do.
  • I came home, ate lunch with Ray (pic posted on SCD Day 3 if you want to see), swallowed my supplements, and then went back to work.  Normally, after lunch (be it at work or at home, on a weekend or on a weekday) all I want to do is eat a lot of sugar and zone out.
  • At work, I got into the zone and e-mailed, worked on projects, read things I’ve been meaning to read . . . I was really in a flow state!  When I finally looked up, everyone had gone home and it was almost 7pm!

Bird!


So I rushed home to walk him.

Normally, after a super productive day… I am exhausted. All I want to do is drink a glass of wine (or a bottle), and curl up with a novel. Oh, and eat chocolate.  Or make a single-lady cupcake.

But instead, I was dying to walk!  I couldn’t wait to get outside in the beautiful spring weather (heavy rain) and see what was the blooming.


When I got home, I opened up the fridge, excited to roast chicken thighs, water saute some green beans, toast slivered almonds, and frizzle some garlic.

When Ray came home from back from back-to-back meetings we ate another delicious dinner (see Day 3) and had a really beautiful evening together.  Right now we’re into Grand Designs, and thinking about the future when we design and build our dream home together.

Ray mentioned that he has been experiencing a lot more energy as well, and also that the brussel sprouts I roasted (on Day 2) were delicious.  When he says things like that I get so excited.  Nothing feels as good as Ray complimenting my cooking.

I fell asleep quickly… But woke up around 2:30 in the morning stressed out about a work thing– essentially I didn’t honor a commitment I made to my boss and that made me feel a very complex mix of emotions (sadness, guilt, frustation).   After focusing on my breathing reading Facebook I was able to fall back asleep… And around 6:30, when Bird came to let me know he was ready to get up . . . I was too!  #SmallMiracle

I was running late… so I just reheated leftovers for breakfast and spritzed them with lemon.

And then I went to work and I have been, the kids say, killing it.

I’m getting all kinds of things done and I have energy to do more.  It’s now just a little after 1 PM, and while I am not emotionally hungry, my stomach is growling. So… time to eat!

I hope this isn’t a candidate for sad desk lunch.

I’ll keep you posted on how my energy sustains as I move through the rest of the day.

For now, tiger Blood is exactly one of the non-scale victories I was hoping to experience as a result of changing my diet.

Dinner


Mahi-Mahi, roasted broccoli, and black beans.

Leave a Reply

